Skip to content

Summer Vacation Project No. 2: Sewing Extravaganza!

July 8, 2011
For my birthday this past March, I asked David to get me this:
But, sadly, I haven’t really had time to use it. In April, I found some fabric at Hancock Fabrics for $5.99 a yard!! So I made curtains for the dining room…but, I didn’t use my sewing machine. I used the no-sew method described here. Easy peasy. Best of all, the curtains cost me $18! Wooo hoo! I also made a table runner out of coordinating fabric using the same method.
Well, I ordered a third coordinating fabric with the hopes of making a seat cushion for our window in the kitchen. Here’s the three fabrics:
One day, I’m going to find the courage to tackle that project and we’ll have a seat cushion made out of that striped fabric. But for now, I’m sticking to the less intimidating projects. Like making pillows. ha! Really, it’s not hard to sew four straight lines. It took me less than an hour to make these two pillows using leftover fabric.
My friend, Melissa, came over last night to sew! She bought this little baby sewing machine from a friend of hers, and has never sewn before. Ever. And somehow, she trusted me to teach her! 
 Our original plan was for me to show her how to make pillows. But then, I came across this tutorial for making pacifier pockets! And it seemed easy enough, so we decided to make those instead. Famous last words…
Melissa came over a little after 6 and we had dinner. Then we started our sewing project around 7. Fast forward FOUR HOURS and we had these:
Melissa’s pacifier pocket.
My pacifier pocket.

We may have underestimated the time it took to cut out the fabric from the patterns. And the interfacing. And then sew the whole dang thing together. It probably wouldn’t have taken us so long if: 1) we knew what “cut on fold” means, 2) Melissa’s baby machine’s foot pedal worked the whole time, and 3) if we knew how to turn that teeny tiny strap right side out. Not to mention that this pacifier pocket is like four inches tall and three inches wide, making it VERY difficult to maneuver with the sewing machine. Long story short? I probably won’t be making another pacifier pouch, so this really is a one-of-a-kind item. But I’m so proud of Melissa! This was her very first sewing machine project, and she did so well!!! Yes, it was a little bit of a frustrating project, and there were the occasional cuss-fests, but we persevered and did it!
Needless to say, I’m a little terrified to start my seat cushion project now. But at least that will be all straight lines and will be like 90 inches long and 24 inches wide. Should be easier to maneuver…maybe.

Leave a Reply

